School Principal and Staff

School Principal and Staff

School Principal: Mrs. Sarah Grey email: sgrey(at)assumptiondenver.orgSarah_Grey

I am the product of Catholic education having attended it from preschool through graduate school. I received my undergraduate degree in Anthropology from the University of Notre Dame and earned a Masters of Education through Notre Dame’s Alliance of Catholic Education teaching program. I strongly believe in the mission of Catholic education and am happy to share this passion with Assumption. I have served in the Archdiocese of Denver since 2005 and am excited to begin my third year as principal of Assumption. My husband and I are the proud parents of two daughters.

 

School Secretary: Mrs. Amy Castillo email: acastillo(at)assumptiondenver.orgAmy_Castillo

Thank you for the opportunity to introduce myself to our Assumption Families. My husband Al and I have a grown son that attended Assumption many years ago. We have also been blessed with a lovely daughter-in-law and a beautiful granddaughter. My husband and I have coached basketball and volleyball here at Assumption over the years. We also enjoy teaching Confirmation at our home parish – Our Lady Mother of the Church in Commerce City.

 

 Teacher’s Aide: Mrs. Sara Lobato email: slobato(at)assumptiondenver.orgsara_lobato

I am so excited to a teacher’s aide this year. My husband, Joseph and I have been married for 15 years and have a son in the third grade. We wanted him to attend Assumption so he could learn about God, obtain a great education and so we could belong to a small community. I was blessed with this wonderful opportunity to get to know all of the students from Pre-K through 8th grade. I am looking forward to a wonderful school year!

 

Pre-Kindergarten Teacher: Mrs. Megan Mortus email: mmortus(at)assumptiondenver.org

I feel so blessed to be able to teach Pre-Kindergarten and be the Preschool Director at Assumption Catholic School. This will be my fourth year teaching and my second here at Assumption. I have a Bachelor of Arts in Early Childhood Education that I received from The University of Northern Colorado. I recently married my wonderful husband, Cody last summer and we are excited that one day my children will attend school here at Assumption! My hobbies include playing volleyball and finding fun ways to be active, especially with my friends and family. FOCUS (Fellowship of Catholic University Students) was a very big factor in growing my faith while I was in college and I can’t wait to share my love of Christ with my students!

 

 Teacher Aide / Co-Teacher: 

 

 

 

 

 

Kindergarten Teacher: Ms. Nicole Camuso email: ncamuso(at)assumptiondenver.org

 

 

 

 

 

First Grade Teacher: Ms. Jamie Ostrom email: jostrom(at)assumptiondenver.org

 

 

 

 

 

 

Second Grade Teacher: Mrs. Alison Andreski email: aandreski(at)assumptiondenver.orgAlison_Story

I graduated over five years ago with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Elementary Teaching from the University of Northern Colorado. I previously taught first grade at Notre Dame Catholic School in Denver. I am really excited to be at Assumption Catholic School for my third year of teaching. I am also excited about being the Reconciliation and First Communion teacher, helping students grow in the faith that is the root of everything I do. Fellowship of Catholic University Students (FOCUS) helped me develop this love of my Catholic Faith throughout my entire college career and I am excited to pass on that love to my students! My hobbies include doing anything in the outdoors and crafting.

 

Third Grade Teacher: Mrs. Anna Mills email: amills(at)assumptiondenver.orgAnna_Mills

I began my teaching career here at Assumption in 2005 after graduating from the University of Northern Colorado. This is my 13th year at Assumption and my fourth year teaching third grade. My husband Trenton and I have been married for over eight years and have two beautiful daughters. I love teaching at a Catholic school because of the morals, religion, and the support I get from our parents. In my free time, I enjoy reading and making hair bows for my girls.

 

Fourth Grade Teacher: Mrs. Jennifer Anderson email: janderson(at)assumptiondenver.orgJenn_Anderson

I began my teaching career at Assumption many years ago, straight out of college. I taught Fourth Grade for eight years, Third Grade for ten years, and now I’m happy to return to teaching Fourth Grade. I am fortunate to have had my 3 boys attend school at Assumption. I have always thought of Assumption as my second home. I really appreciate the small school atmosphere and the wonderful life-long friends that I have made.

 

Fifth Grade Teacher: Mrs. Shannon Scott email: sscott(at)assumptiondenver.orgShannon_Scott

I have a Bachelors of Fine Arts in Curriculum and Instruction and hold a Teaching License for grades K-6 and a Bachelors of Science with RN license. I have been teaching at Assumption School since 2007. This will be my eleventh year at Assumption School as a Fifth Grade teacher. I especially enjoy teaching this age group. It is exciting and challenging to connect with 5th graders. I am married with 6 children and 9 grandchildren. My hobbies are playing piano and painting ceramics.

 

Middle School Math and Science Teacher: Mrs. Gabrielle Wallace email: gwallace(at)assumptiondenver.org

 

 

 

 

Middle School Social Studies and Religion Teacher: Mrs. Cathy Fuller  email: cfuller(at)assumptiondenver.org

 

 

 

 

Middle School Language Arts Teacher: Ms. Katie Kleczek email: kkleczek(at)assumptiondenver.org

 

 

 

 

 

Spanish Teacher: Mrs. Beatriz Ocampo email: bocampo(at)assumptiondenver.orgBeatriz_Ocampo

¡Hola! I am very excited to be your students’ Spanish teacher and delighted to be part of the Assumption Catholic School community! I was born in Mexico City, México, and raised in a fully bilingual home. I have a degree in Computer Engineering and worked at AT&T Bell Labs for several years. I began my teaching career at Nativity Catholic School where I was involved as a parent, a volunteer, a substitute teacher, and now, for over three years, as the Spanish K-5 teacher. I have been married for over 26 years to my husband Carlos and have three sons, Ricardo, Armando, and Andrés. I love working with students and enjoy when I hear them practice what they’re learning in Spanish class! I am looking forward to my second year at Assumption!

 

Art Teacher:  email: (at)assumptiondenver.org

 

 

 

 

 

 

Music Teacher: Mrs. Sara Tyburczy email: styburczy(at)assumptiondenver.orgSara_Tyburczy

I have been teaching music in the public schools since 1982 and I am thrilled to be in the private sector. I came to Colorado from Ohio many years ago and I am married with one adult daughter. I enjoy playing the guitar and singing professionally around town and I am a church leader and choir participant. I enjoy teaching at Assumption School because the students are so respectful and they love music. Music and song are joyful gifts we share with one another and I feel blessed to encourage and teach students to express themselves through these gifts.

 

Physical Education Teacher: Mr. Nick Bovine email: nbovine(at)assumptiondenver.org

 

 

 

 

 

Reading Intervention: Mrs. Maggie Theis email: mtheis(at)assumptiondenver.orgMaggie_Theis

I have taught for over seven years, spending two of those years teaching Kindergarten at Assumption! I have also taught Pre-Kindergarten and First Grade.  This year I will be teaching Reading Intervention to help students reach grade level and beyond in reading and comprehension. I believe reading comprehension is the cornerstone of learning, not only while in school but is a valuable lifelong tool. When not teaching, I enjoy spending time with my family and friends.

 

Athletic Director: Mrs. Kathy Honomichi email: khonomichi(at)assumptiondenver.orgKathy_Honomici

I have been Athletic Director at Assumption for over 12 years. My husband, Mark and I have 2 daughters. Both of our girls went to Assumption from Pre-Kindergarten through 8th grade. We have enjoyed the warm family atmosphere of Assumption School and Parish for many years. I appreciate all the support I get from the parents and staff to help make the Assumption School Athletic Program a successful one. I am looking forward to our Parish Renovation Project and the upgrading of our gymnasium.

 

Cafeteria Manager: Mrs. Autumn McGoff email: amcgoff(at)assumptiondenver.orgAutumn_McGoff

I have worked at Assumption since 2007 when my youngest daughter started kindergarten. She is now a 6th grader. I also have two other children that have graduated from Assumption. One is now a sophomore in college and the other is a junior at Holy Family High School. Our family has enjoyed the wonderful community of Assumption for many years. In addition to managing the cafeteria, I also enjoy coaching Cross Country, Basketball, and Volleyball at the school.

 

Cafeteria Manager: Mrs. Juanita Koch email: jkoch(at)assumptiondenver.orgJuanita_Koch

I have been the Cafeteria Manager here at Assumption Catholic School for the last nine years. My husband Paul and I have been married for over 16 years and we have 3 children currently attending Assumption School. I am truly blessed for finding Assumption as my ‘second home’ and I love the warm, comforting atmosphere here. But mostly, I feel honored to feed all of the wonderful children each day.